Our People

ELPC’s effective strategy is built by many hands across multiple states.

Our multidisciplinary staff employs teamwork approaches using legal, economic, public policy, and communications tools to produce successes that improve our environment and economy. ELPC is governed by a board composed of leaders from the business academic, legal, and civic sectors, and we are guided by expertise from several advisory councils.

Advisory Councils

ELPC’s Advisory Council members provide valuable input, specific expertise and expanded networks to help ELPC succeed. The advisors serve as strategic volunteers, without compensation, and do not have any organizational governance responsibilities. ELPC Advisory Councils operate differently depending on their focus and location. New Advisory Council members are often recruited and appointed by the current Council members in consultation with ELPC staff. There are no formal terms of service. Most ELPC Advisory Councils meet twice each year, and members engage with other Council members and with ELPC staff on an intermittent basis outside scheduled meetings. Some of the Advisory Councils have a designated Chair who works with the relevant ELPC staff to organize the meetings and agenda.

Iowa Advisory Council

Laurie Belin

Environmental Advocate

Liz Garst

Manager, Commercial Farm

Fred Hubbell

Former Chairman and CEO, Equitable of Iowa

Sally Pederson

Director of the Northwest Area Foundation, Former Lieutenant Governor of Iowa

Ralph Rosenberg

Former Non-Profit Leader and Legislator

Rob Sand


Barry Shear

President, Eagle Point Solar

Michigan Advisory Council

Lauren Bigelow

CEO, Growth Capital Network

George Covington

Land Use Attorney

James Dearing

Professor, Michigan State University

George D. Goodman

Former Executive Director, Michigan Municipal League

Judith Goodman

Former Assistant Dean of Admissions and Student Services, University of Michigan Business School

Heidi Grether

Former Director, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality

George Heartwell

Former Mayor of Grand Rapids

Addison Igleheart

Attorney and Real Estate Developer

Debby Igleheart

Trustee and Former President, Michigan Nature Association

Knute Nadelhoffer

Ex-Officio. University of Michigan

Thomas S. Porter

Entrepreneur and Investor

Gary R. Rentrop

Chair - Founding Partner, Rentrop & Morrison law firm

Tracey Shafroth

Philanthropic Advisor

Gary Stewart

Former General Manager of Governmental & Public Affairs , BP

Lorna Puttkammer Straus

Professor Emerita, University of Chicago

Bob Zabors

Founder and CEO, Enovation Partners

Science Advisory Council

Professor Joel Blum

University of Michigan

Professor Bradley Cardinale

Penn State University

Professor Tony L. Goldberg

University of Wisconsin

Debby Moskovits

Vice President of Strategic Science Initiatives, The Field Museum - Chicago

Professor Knute Nadelhoffer

Past Chair - University of Michigan

Professor Jonathan Patz

Chair - University of Wisconsin

Professor Barbara Peckarsky

University of Wisconsin

Professor Mark Ratner

Northwestern University

Professor Nancy Tuchman

Loyola University Chicago

Donald M. Waller

University of Wisconsin - Retired

Professor Donald Wuebbles

University of Illinois

South Dakota Advisory Council

Van Fishback

President, Fishback Financial Corporation

Christine Hamilton

Owner and Operator, Christiansen Land and Cattle

Scott Heidepriem

Ex-Officio (ELPC Board of Directors): Founder and Partner, Heidepriem, Purtell & Siegel, LLP

Robert Oliver

Former President, Augustana College

Catherine V. Piersol

Retired Attorney